2009 Texas State & District 8 Tournament

The Texas Tournament will be held June 12th & 13th (Friday & Saturday)

The Texas State and District 8 Open Tournament will be held June 12th and 13th, beginning at 10:00 am Friday and 8:00 am Saturday.  The tournament will take place at the meeting room of the Super 8 Motel, 910 N. Central Expressway (on Highway 75), McKinney, TX  Phone # 972-548-8880.  Same place as last 2 years.  The room rate is $59.00   Call Faye Harvell @ 972-548-0049 for any questions. 

We would love to see about 30 or more players show up so plan on coming to Texas.

Motel Manager requested that you book your room by June 1st, as June is their busiest month.

The Tournament will begin with a short business meeting and registration at 10:00 a.m., and play will begin shortly afterward.  Seven Rounds will be played, with 3 rounds on Friday and 4 on Saturday. 

The entrance fee will be $20.00.  ACF membership is required, which may be paid upon entry for non-members.  The standard annual membership fee of $25.00 will be forward to ACF.  

Submitted by Faye Harvell & Hugh Hawkins  

For further information call Faye Harvell at 972-734-6191 or email fayemounger@att.net 
You may also call Hugh Hawkins at 903-532-6757 or email

17 hours - 21 minutes   1,112.52 miles from Greensboro to McKinney, TX
I-40 west toward Arkansas for 800 miles then I-440 west toward Texarkana 10 miles, then merge into I-30 west toward Texarkana 267 miles, then exit 94A toward US-69/Denison/US-380/McKinney -  See MapQuest

District 8 contains States: Arkansas, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and their District 8 Manager: Faye Harvell


2009 Texas & District 8 States Open
Friday & Saturday, June 12 & 13 - Super 8, Motel, McKinney, TX



Town, State Rated


R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 Pts


1  Ed King Graham, TX 2198 3T3 5T7 6T9 4T11 7T15 2T17 byeT19 19


 2009 Texas State & District 8 Champion

2  Wayne Gober Shawnee, OK 2065 byeT2 7T6 3T8 6T12 5T13 1T15 4T17 17 $40.00

 2009 Oklahoma State Champion

3  Albert Tucker Minden, LA 2238 1T1 4T4 2T6 5T9


6T13 7T15 15 $30.00  

 Earle Sweatmon

Kaufman, TX 2009 5T1 3T2 byeT4 1T6 6T9 7T12 2T14 14 $17.50  
5  Larry Pollard Brilliant, AL 2133 4T3 1T3 7T6 3T7 2T10 byeT12 6T14 14 $17.50  

 Roy Little

Oklahoma City, OK 1907 7T2


1T6 2T6 4T7 3T9 5T11 11 $10.00  
7  Hugh Hawkins Howe, TX 1742 6T2 2T2 5T3 byeT5 1T5 4T6 3T8 8 $10.00  
 Total                     $190  





Class B:


Town, State Rated


R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 Pts


1  Wade Holder Fayetteville, NC 1884


2T5 7T7 6T11 5T14 3T18 4T21 21


 Winner of B Class

2  Ted Williamson Kenova, WV 1771 5T1 1T2 3T4 4T6 byeT8 6T12 7T16 16 $30.00  
3  Earl Harvell Princeton, TX 1855 4T4 5T6 2T8 byeT10 7T13 1T13 6T15 15 $20.00

 2009 Texas State Class B Champion


 Bill French

Sherman, TX 1550 3T0 7T3 byeT5 2T7 6T9 5T12 1T13 13 $12.50


5  Lester Binnick Houston, TX 1610 2T3 3T5 6T6 7T9 1T10 4T11 byeT13 13 $12.50  

 Elbert Jones

Carthage. TX 1598 7T2 byeT4 5T7 1T7 4T9 2T9 3T11 11 $10.00  
7  John Bowen Granbury, TX 1516 6T2 4T3 1T5 5T6 3T7 byeT9 2T9 9 $10.00  
 Total                     $135  





  • Congratulations to Wade Holder of Fayetteville, NC as the winner of Class B and Congratulations to Earl Harvell as the highest finishing Texan and the 2009 Majors State Champions.
  • A Big Thank you to Earl and Faye Harvell who sponsored this wonderful tournament.
  • The tournament went well and everyone had a great time.
  • Tournament was a 3-Move 7 Rounds of Round Robin which allowed a bye for each round, scored by game play.
  • 2009 WCDF Ratings.  Submitted by Faye Harvell - telephone 6/10/2008.
  • Carol Williamson took a nice picture of the three State Champions attending this tournament, and a group picture.


  • Albert Tucker - Louisiana State Champion,  Larry Pollard - Alabama State Champion,  Ed King - Texas State Champion

    Front row seated L to R: Earle Sweatmon, Earl Harvell, Faye Harvell, Wade Holder, Wayne Gober, Ed King, Roy Little,
    Standing: Albert Tucker, Larry Pollard, Les Binnick, Bill French, Elbert Jones, Hugh Hawkins, Ted Williamson

    2009 Tournament Dates   |  2008 Texas & District 8 Results