2011 Missouri State Gayp Open
Saturday, June 18th 2010, Joyce Raye Patterson Senior Center, 100 S 10th Street, St. Joseph, MO 64501  (map)

The Missouri State GAYP Tournament was held Saturday, June 18, at the Joyce Raye Patterson Senior Center, St. Joseph, MO. At least it started there. When we arrived at the Senior Center, the elevator didn't work. We waited a little bit and then carried all the supplies up the stairs. We set up in the room we were to play in. We started the coffee, no electricity in the outlets. We located another room to get the coffee started. By now we knew most of the building was without electricity. The players started the first round and before it was done, we were told the building would be closed by 10:00 a.m. and we would have to vacate the premises. All players followed us as we headed to our house to complete the tournament.

Finish  Player, City, State Pts.
1.  Ken Kelly, Kansas City, MO   13*
2.  George Stallsworth, Saint Joseph, MO 13
3.  Wilma Wolverton, Grain Valley, MO 11
4.  Myrl Sartain, Saint Joseph, MO 9
5.  Robert Couch, Marceline, MO 8
6.  Lonnie Gray, Saint Joseph, MO 6

*Ken Kelly and George Stallsworth played a play-off round. Congratulations to Ken Kelly who won the tie-breaker round with a win and a draw (3 points) and George got (1 point) for his draw. Our new 2011 Missouri GAYP State Champion is Ken Kelly. All players were from Missouri. No prize money was given.

George Stallsworth, President of MCA presents Ken Kelly of Kansas City, MO 1st Place Trophy as the 2011 Missouri State GAYP Champ.

2011 Missouri GAYP Group picture: L-R front row - Lonnie Gray, Wilma Wolverton, back row - Ken Kelly, Robert Couch, George Stallsworth, and Myrl Sartain.

Submitted by Darlene Stallsworth via email Tue, Jun 21, 2011 at 5:02 PM

2011 Tournament Dates   |  2010 MO State GAYP   |   2009 MO State GAYP